Three Minute Thesis (3MTĀ®) is a research communication competition developed by The University of Queensland which challenges research higher degree students to present a compelling oration on their thesis and its significance in just three minutes in language appropriate to a non-specialist audience.

The first 3MT was held at UQ in 2008 with 160 RHD students competing. In 2009 and 2010 the 3MT competition was promoted to other Australian and New Zealand universities and enthusiasm for the concept grew. Due to its adoption in numerous universities, a multi-national event was developed, and the Inaugural Trans-Tasman 3MT competition was held at UQ in 2010.

Since 2011 the popularity of the competition has increased and 3MT competitions are now held in at least 170 universities across more than 17 countries worldwide.

In November 2013, the first Universitas 21 (U21) 3MT competition was held with several universities from around the world competing in a virtual competition.

2017 3MT Registration: If you are interested in participating in the 2017 3MT competition, please fill out this form! Registration ends on October 18th. The schedule for 3MT is as follows:

  • Main Campus Preliminary Rounds: October 25th, October 27th at 9am in The Brown Room in Cooper Library
  • Greenville Preliminary Rounds: October 26th at 1pm in Room 423 at CUICAR
  • FINAL ROUNDS: November 3rd at 9am in Watt Auditorium

2017 - 2018 WINNERS OF 3MT

PhD Candidate Competition
  1. Matthew Flege | International Family and Community Studies
  2. Madeline Dowling | Plant and Environmental Sciences
  3. Unaiza Uzair | Chemistry
PhD Student and Masters Student Competition
  1. Zolian Zoong Lwe | Plant and Environmental Sciences
  2. Jaime Idarraga | Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  3. Rutali Joshi | Healthcare Architecture

2016 - 2017 WINNERS OF 3MT

  1. Guneet Bedi | Electrical Engineering
  2. Shakira Hobbs | Electrical Engineering
  3. Lauren Garcia Chance | Environmental Toxicology
Graduate Student Center
602 University Union
Clemson, SC